Mystic Lotus


The Noble Ones


The Noble Ones

The 8 DN 16 DN 28 Dhp 255 Dhp 280 are those who have realized one of the 8 stages of holiness or sainthood, i.e. the 4 supermundane paths (magga) and the 4 supermundane fruitions (phala) of these paths.

There are 4 pairs:

  1. Sotāpattimagga
    The one realizing the path of Stream-winning

  2. Sotāpattiphala
    The one realizing the fruition of Stream-winning

  3. Sakadāgāmimagga
    The one realizing the path of Once-return

  4. Sakadāgāmiphala
    The one realizing the fruition of Once-return

  5. Anāgāmimagga
    The one realizing the path of Non-return

  6. Anāgāmiphala
    The one realizing the fruition of Non-return

  7. Arahattamagga
    The one realizing the path of Holiness

  8. Arahattaphala
    The one realizing the fruition of Holiness

Summed up, there are 4 noble individuals (ariya-puggala):

  1. Sotāpanna
    Stream-Winner (Stream-Enterer Dhp 178 SN 22:109 SN 23:7)

    Through the path of Stream-winning (sotāpatti-magga) one 'becomes' free (whereas in realizing the fruition, one 'is' free) from the first 3 fetters (samyojana) which bind beings to existence in the sensuous sphere, to wit:

    1. Sakkāya-Ditthi

    2. Vicikicchā
      Skeptical Doubt

    3. Sīlabbata-Parāmāsa
      Attachment to mere rules and rituals

    After the disappearance of the three fetters, the noble one has won the stream (to Nibbāna) and is no more subject to rebirth in lower worlds SN 12:41 SN 12:42, is firmly established, destined for full enlightenment SN 13 SN 15:10.

  2. Sakadāgāmi

    Through the path of Once-return (sakadāgāmi-magga) one becomes nearly free from the 4th and 5th fetters, to wit:

    1. Kāma-Cchanda
      Sensuous Craving

    2. Vyāpāda

    After the disappearance of the three fetters and reduction of greed, hatred and delusion, the noble one will return only once more; and having once more returned to this world, the noble one will put an end to suffering.

  3. Anāgāmī

    Through the path of Non-return (anāgāmi-magga) one becomes fully free from the above-mentioned 5 lower fetters.

    After the disappearance of the five fetters the noble one appears in a higher world, and there he reaches Nibbāna without ever returning from that world (to the sensuous sphere).

  4. Arahat (Arahants SN 22:76 SN 22:77 Dhp 294 Dhp 405 Dhp 419)
    Holy One (Perfected One SN 22:110 SN 23:8)

    Through the path of Holiness (arahatta-magga) one further becomes free from the 5 higher fetters, to wit:

    1. Rūpa-Rāga
      Craving for fine material existence

    2. Arūpa-Rāga
      Craving for immaterial existence

    3. Māna

    4. Uddhacca

    5. Avijjā

      Through the extinction of all cankers (āsava-kkhaya) the noble one reaches already in this very life the deliverance of mind, the deliverance through wisdom, which is free from cankers, and which the noble one has understood and realized.

The sevenfold grouping DN 33 MN 70 SN 12:27 SN 12:28 SN 12:49 SN 12:50 SN 22:76 of the noble disciples is as follows:

  1. Saddhā Nusārī

    The noble one who is filled with resolution (adhimokkha) and, in considering the formations as impermanent (anicca), gains the faculty of faith, the noble one, at the moment of the path to Stream-winning is called a faith-devotee (saddhānusārī).

  2. Saddhā Vimutta
    Faith-Liberated One

    At the seven higher stages, the noble one is called a faith-liberated one (saddhā-vimutta).

  3. Kāya Sakkhī

    The noble one who is filled with tranquility and, in considering the formations as miserable (dukkha), gains the faculty of concentration, the noble one in every respect is considered as a body-witness (kāya-sakkhī).

  4. Ubhato Bhāga Vimutta
    Both-Ways-Liberated One

    The noble one, however, who after reaching the absorptions of the immaterial sphere has attained the highest fruition (of Holiness), he is a both-ways-liberated one (ubhato-bhāga-vimutta).

  5. Dhammā Nusārī

    The noble one who is filled with wisdom and, in considering the formations as not-self (anattā), gains the faculty of wisdom, he is at the moment of Stream-winning a Dhamma-devotee (dhammānusārī).

  6. Ditthippatta

    At the later stages a vision-attainer (ditthippatta).

  7. Paññā Vimutta
    Wisdom-Liberated One

    At the highest stage a wisdom-liberated one (paññāvimutta).

Abhidhamma:Different Types of Consciousness Mental States Miscellaneous Section Analysis of Thought-Processes Process Freed Section Analysis of Matter Abhidhamma Categories The Compendium Of Relations Mental Culture

Chief Disciples:Śāriputra Maudgalyāyana Mahākāśyapa Subhūti Pūrṇa Maitrāyaniputra Mahākātyāyana Anuruddha Upāli Rāhula Ānanda